Home Page


What is the role of the Governing Body?


The day to day running of the school is the responsibility of the Head Teacher and members of the Senior Leadership Team. However, the Governing Body has the responsibility to ensure that the school is run to promote pupil achievement. Its duties include:

  • Working in partnership with the Head Teacher and staff to establish the strategic direction of the school.

  • Establishing and reviewing school policies.

  • Working with the Head Teacher to set targets and objectives.

  • Approving the school budget.

  • Reviewing progress against the budget and objectives.

  • Appointing, challenging and supporting the Head Teacher.



How do the governors work with the school?


  • There are weekly meetings between the Chair of Governors and the Head Teacher.

  • Regular governor visits take place, these will focus on one aspect of school provision. Following on from the visit the governor will produce a short report for all governors.

  • Comprehensive Head Teacher reports are produced for the governing body.

  • Training courses provided by the Local Authority give information about what the school should be working on and policies that should be in place.

  • Governors are linked to a Curriculum area and meet to review this area every year with the subject leader responsible.



Who are the Governors?


The formal instrument of Government details that St. Mary’s governing body is made up of 14 Governors.

  • 7 Foundation Governors; appointed by the Diocese of Gloucester

  • 1 ExOfficio Foundation Governor appointed by virtue of office held as Vicar of St Mary’s Church

  • 2 Parent Governors; proposed and elected by parents and carers of children at the school

  • 2 Staff Governors (including the Head Teacher and 1 of the school teaching staff; proposed and elected by the staff

  • 1 Local Authority Governor; appointed by the Local Authority

  • 1 Co-opted governor ( A non-teaching member of staff; proposed by the staff and elected by the governing body)


The term of office for each Governor is 4 years from date of appointment or election. Governors are selected based on their skills and experience.

Foundation Governors are appointed by the Dioceses of Gloucester. Foundation Governors are expected to bring to the Governing body an informed regard for the Church nature of the foundation of the school, to ensure that its Christian ethos is preserved and developed, and the religious worship reflects the tradition of the Church of England.

Co-opted governors are appointed by the Governing Body and are people who, in the opinion of the governing body, have the skills required to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school.


Register of Governors and pecuniary interests

Governors Name Date of Appointment Expiry Business & Pecuniary Interests Type
Karl Joyce 01/09/2012 ongoing   Head Teacher
Chris Eastwood 01/02/2018 01/02/2022 Child at the school Foundation
Ann Edis 01/04/2014 01/04/2022 Child at the school Foundation
Robin Gupta 01/05/2016 01/05/2020   Foundation
Rachael Campbell 01/02/2017 01/02/2021   Foundation
Kathleen Newell 01/02/2019 01/02/2023 Child at the school Foundation
Ali Drury 08/01/2014 08/01/2022 Child at the school Parent
Shona Heath 01/05/2018 01/05/2022 Child at the school Parent
Lisa Turner 01/09/2019 01/09/2023 Child at the school Foundation
Grace Murray 01/10/2019 01/10/2023   Local Authority
Jane Cowell 11/11/2020 11/11/2024 Works at the school Co-opted
Lee Francais 02/09/2020 02/09/2024 Works at the school Staff
Lewis Sanders 02/11/2020 02/11/2024 Child at the school Associate
Sabine Doil 02/11/2020 02/11/2024 Child at the school Associate
Joy Ludlow 02/11/2020 ongoing Governor at Oldbury School Foundation



The whole Governing Body meets at least 6 times a year. They also meet regularly in 3 smaller committees which report back to the Full Governing body meetings. Every Governor is able to decide which committee they feel best suits their expertise. The committee structures are as follows:


Resources Committee – This committee reviews where we are against the budget at each meeting and reviews any changes to staffing. This committee is also responsible for ensuring that the buildings of the school are safe and fit for purpose and to ensure the school complies with Health and Safety regulations.


Standards Committee – This committee is responsible for ensuring the high standards of education and ensuring the national curriculum is taught effectively. They monitor & review the pupil and school performance and attendance.


Ethos Committee – The main responsibility of the committee is to support, advise and challenge the Head Teacher and the Governing Body regarding the distinctive ethos of St Mary’s as a church school, and the impact which this has on the pupils and the whole school community.


Governors Name Standards Ethos Resources
Karl Joyce R R R
Chris Eastwood R   R
Ann Edis R   R
Robin Gupta     R
Rachael Campbell   R R
Kathleen Newell R R  
Ali Drury R   R
Shona Heath   R R
Lisa Turner R R  
Grace Murray R   R
Jane Cowell R R  
Lee Francais R R  
Lewis Sanders R   R
Sabine Doil R   R
Joy Ludlow   R  


If you would like to know more about how to volunteer and join the governors in delivering the school vision please leave your contact details with the school office and one of our Governors will contact you.


List of previous Governors


Governors Name Date of Appointment Expiry Date of Stepping Down Business & Pecuniary Interests Type
Richard Hampshire 01/02/2014 01/02/2018 01/02/2018   Foundation
Pam Benson 01/10/2015 01/10/2019 15/11/2016   Foundation
Jane Cowell 01/09/2012 01/09/2016 01/01/2016 Works at the school as a TA Parent
Phil Lucker 01/02/2013 01/02/2017 01/01/2016   Foundation
Gavin Teague 01/09/2014 01/09/2018 01/09/2016   Foundation
Fran Smith 02/09/2013 02/09/2021 30/01/2018   Staff
Mo Newton 22/03/2016 22/03/2020 12/03/2018 Child at the school Parent
Elizabeth Vooght 01/02/2017 01/02/2021 01/11/2018   Foundation
Jan van der Lely 04/09/2012 ongoing 01/04/2019 Governor at Oldbury C of E School Foundation
Jonathan Barford-Turner 22/03/2016 22/03/2020 01/09/2019 Child at the school LEA
Helen Brooks 22/03/2016 22/03/2020 01/03/2019 Works at the school as a TA Co-opted (Staff)
Judith Richardson 01/07/2013 01/07/2021 01/09/2019   Foundation
Claire Clarke 01/11/2013 01/10/2021 01/09/2019 Child at the school Foundation
Graham  Reaper-Brown 01/09/2019 01/09/2023 01/07/2020   Foundation
Graham Pike 01/03/2017 01/03/2020 01/08/2020   Staff Governor

Governor Attendance Records